Blog

LATEST

Articles

What will 2018 bring?

Safe Balance features Clarissa of The Happy Family Lawyer as she answers that multi-million-dollar question on her plans for the coming year. Watch the below video and don't forget to post your reactions or share your own experience in the comments section:...

read more

The National Domestic Violence Order Scheme

In the past, restraining orders that relate to family and domestic violence only applied in the state or territory in which they were issued or registered. This is changing. On 25 November 2017, the National Domestic Violence Order Scheme will commence. From this...

read more

SANE Australia talks about men’s mental health

SANE Australia talks about men's mental health and covers various topics surrounding the issue: How do we know if someone is experiencing mental health problems? If you notice someone has changed, how should you raise your concerns? What's the best way to start a...

read more

INFORMATION FOR SEPARATED PARENTS

Separation Heals in Time

Separation in young families are becoming more common.

Emotionally and mentally wounds need that time to heal.

Though time doesn’t stop. Both parents decide to live at separate addresses.

That person you once loved and who you share a child with now becomes your worst enemy. Why is this? It’s a known fact that people tend to hurt the ones they love.

We all have made bad choices. We all make mistakes. There is no right or wrong.

Importantly it’s wise that decisions are not made when your angry.

The child is loved by both parents.

Let the child be loved and be heard.

Seek help where appropriate whether it’s relationship counselling or a mediation service. You decisions will not only affect the child but also grandparents and other family members.

Useful Links

Safe Balance is a supporter of
Australian Children’s Contact Service Association
www.accsa.org.au

 

Service Phone Website/ Email
Aboriginal Family Law Services (08) 9355 1502 perth@afls.org.au
Aboriginal Parent Support Service (08) 9377 7922 www.meerilinga.org.au
Australian Children’s Contact Service accsa.org.au
Anglicare WA

 

(Family Separation Services)

(08) 9263 2104 separation@anglicarewa.org.au
Anglicare WA (Young Hearts) (08) 9583 1400 anglicarewa.org.au
Ausum Jobs (08) 9274 9900

 

0428 455 482

Beaufort Street Community Centre (08) 9271 4461 www.beaufortstcommunitycentre.org.au
Behaviour Tonics (08) 9382 1182 behaviourtonics.com.au
Beyond Blue 1300 22 4636 www.beyondblue.org.au
CentreCare (Service for Men) (08) 9325 6644 enquiries@centrecare.com.au
Citizens Advice Bureau WA (08) 9325 4217 www.cabwa.com.au
Community Legal Centres Association WA Inc 08) 9221 9322 www.communitylaw.net

 

administrator@communitylaw.net

Fairhaven Rebuilding Centre 0451 822 737 www.wafairhaven.com.au
Family Court of Western Australia Call Centre

 

(08) 9224 8222

1800 199 228

Emergency Only

(08) 9223 1111

1800 199 008

www.familycourt.wa.gov.au
Family Law Practitioners’ Association www.flpawa.com.au

 

admin@flpawa.com.au

Family Relationships Centre (08) 9583 1400 www.familyrelationships.gov.au

 

mfrc@anglicarewa.org.au

Kids Helpline 1800 55 1800 www.kidshelp.com.au
Legal Aid 1300 650 579 www.legalaid.wa.gov.au
Meerilinga Children and Family Centre, Kingsley (08) 9309 4174 www.meerilinga.org.au
Meerilinga Early Learning Program, Woodvale (08) 9309 3462

 

Emergency 0417 939 521

www.meerilinga.org.au
Men’s Domestic Violence Helpline (08) 9223 1199

 

1800 000 599

Mens Line Australia 1300 78 99 78 www.mensline.org.au
Mercy Care (08) 6151 1900 www.mercycare.com.au
Multicultural Services Centre of WA Inc. (08) 9328 2699 www.mscwa.com.au
Ngala (08) 9368 9368

 

1800 111 546

www.ngala.com.au
Professional Dispute Resolution Centre (08) 9486 4952 info@pdrc.com.au
Relationships Australia 1300 364 277 www.relationshipswa.org.au
Separated Dads (08) 9261 4451 www.lifelinewa.org.au/separateddads/
Separated Mums WA (08) 9261 4451 www.lifelinewa.org.au/separatedmums/
Sexual Assault Resource Centre Crisis Line

 

(08) 9340 1828

Free call 1800 199 888

Southern Suburbs Process Servers 0427 980 605 dmjudges@bigpond.net.au
St Vincent de Paul Society (Financial Counselling) 0439 526 644 suzanne.long@svdpwa.org.au
The Mental Health Law Centre WA Inc. (08) 9328 8266 www.mhlcwa.org.au
Victim Support Service (08) 9425 2850 www.victimsofcrime.wa.gov.au
WA No Interest Loans Scheme 13 64 57

 

(08) 9277 3000

If you or someone you know is thinking about suicide, call:
Lifeline 13 11 14
Kids Helpline 1800 551 800
MensLine Australia 1300 789 978
Suicide Call Back Service 1300 659 467
Beyond the Blue 1300 22 4636 24 hours a day, 7 days a week Chat on line: 3 pm to 12 am (AEST)7 days a week
R U OK https://www.ruok.org.au/